Snagged A Degree

That’s it everyone! I’ve officially got a bachelor’s degree in Music Business and Entertainment Industries! Four long, long years of work and play have finally paid off. It felt so surreal to walk across that stage and be surrounded by my colleagues and peers who too were being rewarded for their success that day. I’m really proud that I finished and didn’t give up, though there were many a days that seemed like it was as bad as it could get.Dark days. We all have them, but it’s the perseverance and heart to know that your goals and aspirations trump any and all obstacles you approach. If someone says you can’t do something, by all means, punch them in the neck (unless you’ll go to jail). Graduating college has been my most valued accomplishment yet. Now, getting a job is the next step. I’ve been applying in several states for entertainment related jobs. Above anything, I don’t want to be one of those people who spend all that time in school and don’t do anything with it. I’ve worked too damn hard and want to recognize my success by going for jobs that pay well and are in my field of study. Though it may take several attempts and some dead end jobs (and maybe a few punched necks) before I get there, I won’t give up.

There ya have it folks; words from a lady with a bachelor’s degree in kickin ass. Sorry about the delayed post, but I was busy with my family visiting and whatnot. Back to the blogging I go!

My very giggly mother and I post-graduation going to dinner with the family
My very giggly mother and I post-graduation going to dinner with the family
SAI and faculty adviser
Sigma Alpha Iota, Sigma Chi chapter at the University of Miami

 

Rather than being heavily college related, my posts will now probably focus on my daily grind to get a job, and then once I secure that bad boy, I’m sure I’ll have much to post about my daily work life. I’m excited about where this blog will go and am appreciative of where it’s taken me. Call me cliché, but as this page has blossomed, so have I. Expressing oneself is a virtue acquired. I think through blogging, I’ve become more verbal and aggressive in the non-virtual world. I am more direct and know exactly what I want and precisely how to get it. Being detail-oriented is like breathing now, seeing as how we have to tag all posts and be so descriptive with what we say if we want to convey the right message across to our readers. I think no matte what your purpose in blogging, it is worth it. It’s better than doing nothing. Some people ask me why I blog, and I want to reply with “Why do you speak?”.

You get my point.

Happy weekend to y’all! Look out for a movie post in a few minutes, I’ve got questions and answers!

C.S. got a degree!
C.S. got a degree!

 

 

Also, it’s my WordPress Anniversary today!

C.S.

6 thoughts on “Snagged A Degree

  1. I noticed your blog’s theme is called Superhero. You are a superwoman!

    “I don’t want to be one of those people who spend all that time in school and don’t do anything with it. I’ve worked too damn hard and want to recognize my success by going for jobs that pay well and are in my field of study.” I always shook my head at people who go school for 4 or more years and end up in a field totally unrelated to their major. What was the point?

    I like that picture of you and mom!

    That’s interesting what you said about blogging. For me, blogging is becoming too time consuming. Not so much as in writing posts but I find I’m always thinking about how to improve my blog. I was up at 4AM doing this today lol. Yes, never leave this blog. Check in if just for a creative outlet.

    I love that smile you have holding your degree! Hope you’re having a good weekend. Welcome back C.S.

    • Superwoman, hell yea!

      I’m definitely going to utilize this degree. It was costly–physically, mentally, and monetarily!
      And with a successful blog like yours, of course it will be time consuming! As long as you enjoy it, I say keep at it.

      Glad you enjoyed the pictures haha

      • Well, I was originally interested in artist management, but then soon found interest in the talent agent position. But honestly, anything where I get to work live events, help artists, and pay the bills, I’m happy. I applied for the Event Coordinator position for the city of Houston. Pays well and my boyfriend works for the city already. It’s an entertainment related job in my hometown that pays well, ca-ching! Fingers crossed…

Leave a Reply

