Wake Up And Smell The Ashes

I’m no stranger to hard times and tears.
We all know this world is full of monsters to motivate our fears.
Sometimes I wonder why I fight so hard to be the greatest.
When in the end I’m pushed down by some jealous Lowlife racist.
I’m not playing the race card or using it as an excuse.
There’s other forms of racism than a Negro in a noose.
There’s verbal abuse, not accepting my truths.
Saying everything that comes from my mouth is an excuse.
I came from a neighborhood where Chocolate skin was rare.
And for legal reasons, teachers made sure I was treated fair.
It was all I knew, my friends were all White.
And to me, being “that Black girl” was alright.
It was an indication of our lack of proper knowledge.
But I was greeted by the same thing in college.
People using the word Nigga like it’s an everyday pronoun.
I had to try so hard for shit not to go down.
Some people are ignorant and think racism is gone.
Wake up and watch the news, that’s a burning cross on your lawn.

I hate the automatic assumption that Im a die hard Trayvon supporter because I’m Black. Yes.I support his cause because he had a wrongful death and a piss of a trial. No one has the right to judge me for my opinion coupled with the color of my skin.

I heard someone say the most discriminating thing and I was sitting right there. No hesitation that I would get offended. No concern that I might haul off and slap them. Nothing. I was truly amazed at their level of comfort in making references to Blacks as though they were a pathetic people who needed saving.

Yes, please save me.

From people like you.

C.S.

Leave a Reply

